

GROUP OF FRIENDS UNITED AGAINST HUMAN TRAFFICKING

In Stronger Partnership and Better Coordination of Efforts to Stop Human Trafficking:

Eradicating Modern-Day Slavery through Sustainable Development

SPECIAL HIGH LEVEL EVENT

ECOSOC Chamber, UN Headquarters, New York Tuesday, February 9, 2016, 10 am - 1 pm

The Group of Friends United against Human Trafficking is pleased to invite you to an interactive discussion on the interdependence between the eradication of human trafficking and the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals.

This special high level event is an opportunity for UN Member States, international and regional organisations, and civil society to showcase best practices in the prevention of trafficking in persons, prosecution of related crimes and protection of their victims, as well as exchange views on how to intensify the international fight against modern-day slavery, especially in the context of implementing Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development.

The President of the General Assembly, the UN Secretary-General, the President of the Security Council, President of the Economic and Social Council, the Executive Director of the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC), senior management of the Inter-Agency Coordination Group against Trafficking in Persons (ICAT) Members, representatives of regional organisations, the Board of Trustees of the UN Voluntary Trust Fund for Victims of Trafficking and a trafficking survivor have been invited to participate in the interactive discussion as keynote speakers.

The event will also feature a special musical performance by the world-renowned pianist Chloe Flower.

We look forward to your attendance.

For UN Member States, please RSVP to Ms Larysa Belskaya of the Mission of Belarus at belskaya.larysa1234@gmail.com. For civil society participants and other invited guests, please contact the UNODC NY Office at unodcny@un.org.

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Belarus

Bolivia

Ecuador

Egypt

Eritrea

India

Kazakhstan

Kyrgyzstan

Lao People's Democratic Republic

Libya

Nicaragua

Nigeria

Philippines

Qatar

Singapore

Russian Federation

Tajikistan

Turkmenistan

UAE

Uzbekistan

Venezuela